[water]Coloring Book[marks]

A few months ago I did something that I’ve always wanted to do…I joined a book club! It’s been a great way to make new friends, reconnect with old ones and read books that I never would have picked up on my own.

For our first meeting, I had the idea to make bookmarks for my new book club friends. Although, I wondered how many of the girls would actually use them, considering it seems like every other person has a Kindle, Nook or iPad these days…

Scrolling through Pinterest, I saw a pin for diy tags hand-painted with watercolors. I adapted the look slightly to make my bookmarks.

My Pin-spiration from Eat Drink Chic:

Bookmark Pinspiration

Supplies:

Watercolor paper, 90lb (from Michael’s Craft Store)
Artist’s Loft Watercolor Pan Set & brushes
Cricut Mini Machine
Hemp cord (twine would work too)

IMG_3191[1]

I used Cricut Craft Room to cut the bookmarks out of watercolor paper. Make a rectangle with rounded corners (approx. 2″ wide x 5.5″ tall) and weld circles and ovals together to make a scalloped design on top of the rectangle. Add a small circle in the top to thread the hemp cord through (or you can use a one-hole punch).

Bookmarks Cricut Template

Next, add a little water to your brush, circle it in the watercolor pan and paint brushstrokes the width of the bookmark. As you make your way up the bookmark, gradually add more and more water to dilute the paint to create a fading effect. Let dry and add more coats (using fading technique) for desired color richness. Mine required about 3 coats.

IMG_3192[1]

IMG_3189[1]

When dry, thread hemp cord through to make ties. Personalize with stamps or stickers.

IMG_3225

The books our club “Bookalicious” has read so far:

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

The Last Girlfriend on Earth by Simon Rich

Outliers by Malcom Gladwell

Currently reading: Something Happened by Joseph Heller

Leave a Reply

